The Nigerian Medical Association (NMA) held its 56th Annual General Conference and delegates meeting tagged “Sakkwato 2016” at Giginya Coral Hotel in the seat of the caliphate Sokoto, Sokoto State from 24th – 28th April 2016.  The theme of the conference was “Doctors in Administrative positions in a democratic dispensation.” The Chairman of the conference was the former Executive Governor of Kebbi State and a distinguished Senator of the Federal Republic of Nigeria; Senator Adamu Aliero who was ably represented by Professor Abubakar Abdullahi Bagudo. The President, Commander in Chief of the Federal Republic of Nigeria; His Excellency Muhammadu Buhari, GCFR was ably represented by the Honourable Minister of Health; Professor Isaac F. Adewole. His Excellency RT. Honourable Aminu Waziri Tambuwal, CFR; the Executive Governor of Sokoto State was the Special Guest of Honour while the Royal Father of the Day was His Eminence Alhaji Muhammad Sa’ad Abubakar; the Sultan of Sokoto.
Other very distinguished guests present include the Honourable Minister of State for Health; Dr Osagie Ehanire, the Permanent Secretary Federal Ministry of Health; Dr Amina B. Shamaki, the Honourable Commissioner of Health Sokoto State; Dr Shehu Balarabe Kakale Shuni, the Registrar of the Medical and Dental Council of Nigeria, the CMDs/MDs of 42 Federal Tertiary Health institutions, the Vice Chancellor of Usman Dan Fodio University Sokoto, the Presidents of Association of Nigerian Physicians in the Americas (ANPA) and Medical Association of Nigerians across Great Britain (MANSAG), the Chairman of the NMA board of Trustees; Prof Umaru Shehu, Past Presidents of NMA; Dr Chief Abiola Oshodi and many others too numerous to mention.
Free Medical Outreach Program to Tangaza LGA where General and Specialist medical services were offered to the community. A total of 754 patients were seen out of which 170  Surgeries of different sub specialties were successfully carried out.
Other activities slated for the conference were abridged following the news of the demise of 6 of our colleagues and the driver in vehicular accident along the Abuja-Kaduna highway.
The Annual General Conference and Delegates Meeting of the Association made the following observations:
The AGC/ADM observed with shock the sudden demise of 6 of our colleagues and delegates from Ekiti State branch of NMA with their driver through a motor vehicle accident on Sunday 24th April 2016 along the Abuja-Kaduna highway while on their way to attend the AGC/ADM in Sokoto.
The fallen colleagues were:
Dr Alex Akinyele              –         Secretary NMA Ekiti
Dr Tunde Aladesanmi   –         General Surgeon FTH, ido Ekiti
Dr O. J. Taiwo                   –         Anatomic Pathologist EKSUTH, Ado Ekiti
Dr J. B. Ogunseye            –         National Secretary NAGGMDP
Dr O. Olajide                     –         President ARD EKSUTH
Dr Atolani Adeniyi          –         Secretary NAGGMDP, Ekiti State branch
Mr Ajibola                          –         Driver, NMA Ekiti State.
The AGC/ADM offered prayers for the repose of their souls and declared a one week mourning period from 26th April – 3rd May 2016 by all Nigerian Doctors. During this period, all doctors in Nigeria would wear a black arm band on the left arm and all the activities of the conference were toned down as mark of respect for the departed colleagues.
The AGC/ADM observed with dismay the absence of ambulances stationed along the Abuja-Kaduna highway for the purpose of prompt emergency care and evacuation of victims of vehicular accidents. It further observed the poor state of Government owned health facilities located along the highway which were grossly ill-equipped and inappropriately staffed to provide emergency care to victims of vehicular accidents on the Abuja – Kaduna highway.
The AGC/ADM applauds the Executive Governor of Ekiti State His Excellency Chief Ayodele Fayose and his Government for the honour done to our deceased colleagues and NMA
The AGC/ADM also applauds the members of NMA Kaduna and Ekiti States branches for their prompt responses and interventions during the fatal accident.
The AGC/ADM observed that the operationalization of the National Health Act 2014 was long overdue and urged Government to expedite action on putting into practice the provisions of the act.
The AGC/ADM applauded the National Council on Health for the adoption of the Universal Health coverage through the National Health insurance Scheme.
The Annual General Conference and Delegates Meeting made the following major resolutions:
The AGC/ADM raised a 20 Million Naira Educational endowment fund for the immediate support for the families of the bereaved.
The AGC/ADM has scheduled Saturday, 14th May 2016 for inter-faith service in honour of our departed colleagues in Ado Ekiti, Ekiti State. Representatives of Doctors in all the 36 State and FCT branches of the NMA would be in attendance.
The AGC/ADM urges the Federal and State Governments of Nigeria to urgently provide and station well equipped functional ambulances along the major highways for the purpose of immediate conveyance of injured victims of vehicular accidents to nearby hospitals. Furthermore, the Federal and State Governments should commence immediate rehabilitations of roads with proper and appropriate road signage on the major highways across the country.
The AGC/ADM resolved that the former interim Administrator of Federal Medical Centre Owo Dr A. O. J. Kolajo be suspended indefinitely and referred to the Medical and Dental Council of Nigeria for further disciplinary action.
The following members were elected into the National Officers Committee (NOC) of the NMA during the AGC/ADM. They are:
Prof. Mike Ozovehe Ogirima                    –           President
Dr  Kingsley Enweremadu                        –           1st Vice President
Dr Adamu Alhassan Umar                       –           2nd Vice President
Dr Yusuf Tanko Sununu                           –           Secretary General
Dr Ahmed Attah Jacob.                             –           Deputy Secretary General
Dr Prince Dan Jumbo                                –           National Treasurer
The Nigerian Medical Association wishes to extend its profound gratitude to the following distinguished Nigerians for their immense contributions towards the success of the Annual General Conference and Delegate Meeting and their condolences to the NMA
The President, Commander in Chief of the Armed Forces of Nigeria, His Excellency Muhammadu Buhari, GCFR.
The Executive Governor of Sokoto State; His Excellency Rt. Hon. Aminu Waziri Tambuwal, CFR.
The Former Executive Governor of Kebbi State and Distinguished Senator of the Federal Republic Alhaji Adamu Aliero
The Executive Governor of Ekiti State; His Excellency Chief Ayo Fayose
The Honourable Minister of Health; Prof. Isaac F. Adewole
The Honourable Minister of State for Health; Dr Osagie Ehanire and all other officials of  Federal Ministry Health
The Deputy Governor of Sokoto State; Alhaji Ahmed Aliyu
The Speaker of Sokoto State House of Assembly
The Sultan of Sokoto; His Eminence Alhaji Muhammad Sa’ad Abubakar III.
The Honourable Commissioner of Health Sokoto State; Dr Shehu Balarabe Kakale Shuni.
The Registrar of the Medical and Dental Council of Nigeria MDCN
The CMDs/MDs of all Federal Health Institutions.
The Vice Chancellor of Usman Dan Fodio University Sokoto.
Mike O. Ogirima
Professor of Orthopaedic & Trauma Surgery


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here