Editor's Focus

Press Release: Nigerian Healthcare Awards celebrate Akinsete, Ohuabunwa, GE, Lagoon Hosp. Medplus, Nordica, others… (SEE FULL LIST OF AWARD RECEIPIENTS).

The Nigerian Healthcare Excellence Award (NHEA) in a well-attended and glamourous ceremony in Lagos celebrated key stakeholders in the Nigeria healthcare sector. Professor Ibironke Akinsete and Pharm (Mazi) Sam Ohubunwa were presented the Lifetime Achievement Awards at the 4th edition of the NHEA award.

Also, those who received honours in an event sponsored by Sterling Bank and PharmAccess Foundation are; GE Healthcare (Biomedical Engineering Service Provider of the Year), Lagoon Hospitals (Private Healthcare Provider of the Year), SaferMom (PharmAccess Innovative Healthcare Service Provider of the Year), Aminu Kano Teaching Hospital, Kano (Tertiary Healthcare Provider of the Year), Medplus (Pharmaceutical Retail Outlet of the Year), and Nordica Fertility (IVF Service Provider of the Year) amongst others.

Speaking at the ceremony, Chairman of the NHEA Advisory Board, Dr. Anthony Omolola expressed the excitement of the organisers for the growing support and acceptance the award is receiving from stakeholders.

“We are very excited and happy with the kind of support and confidence this award is receiving. Your honoured presence and active participation have continued to be a source of encouragement to us.”

Furthermore, Omolola spoke about changes the award has under gone over the years and the future plans. “Our evaluation process has improved tremendously through the application of technology / automation and some of the key changes and improvement includes; online nomination and E-voting which are now part of the process, increased physical site verification and research teams who now do evaluation and review of submitted information, and in the coming years NHEA will expand this site verification exercise to all states in Nigeria, also an internal auditor that audits the NHEA processes”.

In his acceptance remarks, Pharm Ohuabunwa says, “With the personalities here tonight and those being celebrated I have no doubt about the credibility of this award. Nigerian Healthcare workers put in so much and they are hardly recognized or celebrated. I thank everyone who put this together.”

Moses Braimah, NHEA Director for Communication, Marketing & Strategy says, “this award is a stimulus designed to catalyse the Nigerian healthcare sector into greater heights through improvement and accessibility. We are proud and happy with the results we are getting”.

NHEA is organized by Global Health Projects & Resources in collaboration with Anadach USA.


  1. Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Prof. (Mrs.) Ibironke Akinsete
  • Pharm. (Mazi) Sam Ohuabunwa


  1. Nursing & Midwifery Excellence Award of the Year
  • Prof. Ezekiel Olasunkanmi Ajao (Babcock University)


  1. Outstanding State Healthcare Programme of the Year
  • Delta State Contributory Health Insurance Scheme


  1. Healthcare Media Excellence Award – Print
  • Pharmanews


  1. Healthcare Media Excellence Award – Electronic
  • Mary Alale-Yusuf (Channels TV)


  1. Healthcare Friendly Financial Institution of the Year
  • Diamond Bank Plc


7. Private Healthcare Provider of the Year

  • Lagoon Hospitals


  1. Private Laboratory Service Provider of the Year
  • Pathcare Laboratories -Lagos


  1. Radiology Service Provider of the Year
  • Clinix Healthcare – Lagos


  1. Health Maintenance Organisation of the Year
  • Total Health Trust Limited (a member of Liberty Holdings South Africa)


  1. PharmAccess Innovative Healthcare Service Provider of the Year
  • SaferMom


  1. IVF Service Provider of the Year
  • Nordica Fertility


  1. Dialysis Service Provider of the Year
  • Renal Dialysis Centre


  1. Eye care Service Provider of the Year
  • Eye Foundation Hospital


  1. Dental Service Provider of the Year
  • Smiles 360 Dental Specialist


  1. Physiotherapy Service Provider of the Year
  • Body Mechanics Physiotherapy and Wellness Centre


  1. Tertiary Healthcare provider of the Year
  • Aminu Kano Teaching Hospital, Kano


  1. Healthcare Information Technology Provider of the Year
  • Armpersand Logistics


  1. Biomedical Engineering Service Provider of the Year
  • GE Healthcare


  1. Laboratory Equipment Marketing Company of the Year
  • DCL Laboratory Product Ltd. – Abuja


  1. Hospital Equipment Marketing Company of the Year
  • JNC International


  1. Pharmaceutical Retail Outlet of the Year
  • Medplus Pharmacy


  1. Pharmaceutical (Manufacturer) Operation Excellence Company of the Year
  • Emzor Pharmaceutical Industries Limited


(Visited 54 times, 1 visits today)
JOIN THE NEW DoctorsQuarters.com BBM CHANNEL ON C0015D291... Its New And RefreshingFacebooktwittergoogle_pluslinkedinrssyoutubeby feather
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather
Dr E
The Admin is a Medical and Dental Council of Nigeria Certified Medical Doctor, with profound expertise in Medical Content Creation and Medical Citizen Journalism. He is popular for being a fast-rising online voice in Nigeria, with a flair for animated writing. He is a professional health content writer. He loves to swim, read and play board games. He sees himself as one who is destined to play a role in the way health services are rendered to the human race.